Amory Hélène

Researcher, Vice Dean for Education, Ordinary Professor
Researcher publications

 

Research areas

Hélène Amory is involved in several research projects, focused primarily in the area of cardiology large animals, a sector in which she has gained international recognition. She has developed several invasive and non-invasive cardiovascular investigation techniques in various large animal species (cattle, horses, goats). These techniques allowed the conduct of clinical, epidemiological and basic studies in large animal cardiology and in comparative cardiology. She has by instance participated in the development of a model of doxycycline intoxication in calves and of mitral insufficiency in humans. She also participated in studies on bone metabolism in equine species and in basic and clinical research in the field of equine internal medicine, with a special focus on the atypical myopathy for which she supplies clinical data and samples through the cases admitted at the clinic and is involved in ongoing research in collaboration with Dr. D. Votion.

Equipment / technologies

Two-dimensional, time-motion, and tissue Doppler echocardiography, speckle tracking

Measurement of cardiac output by thermodilution, lithium dilution (Lidco) and analysis of the pulse wave (Pulsco)

Hemodynamics and pressure/volume loops (conductance technique) with cardiac load changes

Academic distinctions

Intern student at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine from 01/10/1986 to 30/09/1987
Head of the class of the 1987 Doctors in Veterinary Medicine, University of Liege
Winner of the Veterinary Medicine Annals price 1987 for the dissertation entitled "cardiopulmonary and thermoregulatory adaptation to exercise and training in the equine species : Literature review and original experiment"

Most representative publications

  • AMORY H., et al. Echographic evaluation of cardiac morphologic and functional variables in double-muscled calves.  Am. J. Vet. Res., 1992, 53 (9), 1540-1547 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/6755
  • Sandersen C.F., Detilleux J., De Moffarts B., Van Loon G., AMORY H. Effect of atropine-dobutamine stress test on left ventricular echocardiographic parameters in untrained warmblood horses. J. Vet. Int. Med. 2006, 20, 575-580 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/8687
  • Votion D., Linden A., Saegerman C., Engels P., Erpicum M., Thiry E., Delguste C., Rouxhet S., Demoulin V., Navet R., Sluse F., Serteyn D., van Galen G., AMORY H. History and clinical features of equine atypical myopathy: synthesis of Belgian cases diagnosed by histology (2000-2005). J. Vet. Int. Med. 2007, 21:1380-1391 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/7594
  • Porter S., Saegerman C., Van galen G., Sandersen C., Delguste C., Guyot H., AMORY H.  Vegetative endocarditis in equids (1994-2006). J. Vet. Int. Med. 2008, 22(6):1411-6 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/79783
  • Leroux A., Detilleux J., Sandersen C., Borde L., Houben R., Al Haidar A., Art T., AMORY H. Prevalence and risk factors for cardiac diseases in a hospital-based population of 3 434 horses (1994-2011). J. Vet. Intern. Med. 2013, Nov-Dec,27(6):1563-70, doi: 10.1111/jvim.12197. Epub 2013 Sep 20 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/153544

Information updated by the researcher on 10/15/2015.

PhD students

Cerri Simona

De Araujo Pequito Manuel

Lecoq Laureline

Amory Hélène

Chercheur, Vice-Doyen à l'enseignement, Professeur Ordinaire
Publications du chercheur

 

Thématiques de recherche

Hélène Amory est impliquée dans plusieurs projets de recherche, ciblés en priorité dans le secteur  de la cardiologie des grands animaux, secteur dans lequel elle a acquis une reconnaissance internationale.  Elle a mis au point dans plusieurs espèces animales de grande taille (bovins, chevaux, caprins) diverses techniques d’investigation cardiovasculaire.  Ces techniques ont permis la réalisation d’études cliniques, épidémiologiques et fondamentales en cardiologie des grands animaux et en médecine comparée.  C’est ainsi qu’elle a, par exemple, participé à l’élaboration d’un modèle d’intoxication à la doxycycline chez le veau et d’insuffisance mitrale chez l’homme.  Elle a également participé à des études sur le métabolisme osseux dans l’espèce équine et à des recherches fondamentales et cliniques dans le domaine de la médecine interne équine, avec un focus particulier sur la myopathie atypique pour laquelle elle alimente les banques de données à travers les cas réceptionnés à la clinique. Dans ce cadre, elle participe aux recherches en cours en collaboration avec le Dr D. Votion.

Équipements / technologies

Échocardiographie bidimensionnelle, temps-mouvements, Doppler et tissulaire, speckle tracking, mesure du débit cardiaque par thermodilution, dilution du lithium (Lidco) et analyse de l’onde de pouls (Pulsco), hémodynamique et courbes pression/volume (cathéters à conductance) avec variations de charge cardiaque.

Distinctions académiques

Interne à la Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire de Cureghem du 01/10/1986 au 30/09/1987

Major de la promotion 1987 des docteurs en médecine vétérinaire de l'Université de Liège

Lauréat du prix des Annales de Médecine Vétérinaire 1987 pour le mémoire de fin d'études intitulé : "Adaptation cardiorespiratoire et thermorégulatrice à l'effort et à l'entraînement dans l'espèce équine. Revue bibliographique et expérimentation originale"

Diplomate du collège européen de médecine interne équine (ECEIM) depuis 2003

Publications les plus représentatives

  • AMORY H., et al. Echographic evaluation of cardiac morphologic and functional variables in double-muscled calves.  Am. J. Vet. Res., 1992, 53 (9), 1540-1547 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/6755
  • Votion D., Linden A., Saegerman C., Engels P., Erpicum M., Thiry E., Delguste C., Rouxhet S., Demoulin V., Navet R., Sluse F., Serteyn D., van Galen G., AMORY H. History and clinical features of equine atypical myopathy: synthesis of Belgian cases diagnosed by histology (2000-2005). J. Vet. Int. Med. 2007, 21:1380-1391 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/7594
  • Porter S., Saegerman C., Van galen G., Sandersen C., Delguste C., Guyot H., AMORY H.  Vegetative endocarditis in equids (1994-2006). J. Vet. Int. Med. 2008, 22(6):1411-6 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/79783
  • Leroux A., Detilleux J., Sandersen C., Borde L., Houben R., Al Haidar A., Art T., AMORY H. Prevalence and risk factors for cardiac diseases in a hospital-based population of 3 434 horses (1994-2011). J. Vet. Intern. Med. 2013, Nov-Dec,27(6):1563-70, doi: 10.1111/jvim.12197. Epub 2013 Sep 20 http://orbi.ulg.ac.be/handle/2268/153544
  • Rodriguez C., Taminiau B., Brévers B., Avesani V., Van Broeck J., Leroux A.A., Gallot M., Bruwier A., AMORY H., Delmée M., Daube G. "Carriage rate of clostridium difficile in horses at hospital admission, with fecal microbiota characterisation using 16 rDNA barcoded pyrosequencing. BMC Microbiology, 2015, 15:181. doi: 10.1186/s12866-015-0514-5  http://www.biomedcentral.com/1471-2180/15/181
  • Boemer F., Detilleux J., Cello C., AMORY H., Marcillaud-Pitel C., Richard E., Van Galen G., Van Loon G., Lefere L., Votion D. "Acylcarnitines profile best predicts survival in horses with atypical myopathy", PLoS ONE, PONE-D-17-03826R1 2017, 1-16. doi: 10.1111/vec.1266 https://biblio.ugent.be/publication/8531350

 

Informations mises à jour par le chercheur le 9/12/2019.

Doctorants

Lecoq Laureline